Posted by: Jim | January 27, 2006

113839908993552772

Happy Birthday Mozart

Following is a poem just written by “The Curmudgeon in Training,” who is taking a sabbatical from the blogosphere. I liked the poem so much I asked if I could post it here. He said yes. Here it is:

I Listened To Mozart

I listened to Mozart’s
Requiem last night,

a mid-seventies document
from Academy and Chorus of
St. Martin in the Fields, Neville Marriner;
John Shirley-Quirk, bass.

Voca. Voca me.

I listened to Mozart’s
Requiem, late last night.

I tapped my foot and drank
deeply from a cork-stopped bottle
of single barrel bourbon, a bourbon
of smoky texture and heritage.

Voca. Voca me.

I listened to Mozart’s
Requiem last night,

and remembered a decade past;
a baritone position in a chorus
of depth, singing with appetite,
the joy of transient youth.

Voca. Voca me.

I listened to Mozart’s
Requiem last night. Late.

I heard it for
the first time,

for myself.

Leave a Reply

Categories

