Posted by: Jim | November 1, 2006

6-Word Short Story Contest

Also in this month’s WIRED is the results of their 6-word short story contest.

I have two brief points. First, I was only haphazardly reading the mag, and misread one of the stories, and (I believe) improved it tremendously.

The correct version: “Gown removed carelessly. Head …. not so.”
How I read it: “Crown removed carefully. Head … not so.”

Mine is better, do you agree? Serendipity at its best.

And now, here is my entry to the contest, which I am disqualifying for being late:

“Bright flash of light. The End.”

Responses

  1. Here are a few other good ones:

    Osama’s time machine: President Gore concerned.
    – Charles Stross

    Cryonics: Disney thawed. Mickey gnawed. Omigawd.
    – Eileen Gunn

    The Axis in WWII: haiku! Gesundheit.
    – Howard Waldrop

    Leia: “Baby’s yours.” Luke: “Bad news…”
    – Steven Meretzky

    We went solar; sun went nova.
    – Ken MacLeod

  2. I LOVE THESE! yea I gotta say that’s quite the idea there. (I’ve actually come up with a few myself, but from a loooong time ago)

  3. Server goes down; monkeys throw poo.

  4. LOL … that will always make me laugh.

    (Sorry, folks. VERY inside joke, there.)

  5. Luv ya, man.
    🙂

    * * *

  6. Apollo 13 circles the moon. Bummer.

  7. Here’s one i made in like 5 minutes. lol.

    -Need laughter? Your life’s a joke.

  8. Her betrayal. His wrath. Her funeral.

  9. how’s this
    “He logs on, She logs off”
    “Hello Computer, goodbye wife and bed”
    “Goodbye Mother, Hello Father and Friend”

    gimmie some feed


Leave a Reply

Categories

