Posted by: Jim | May 11, 2007

Kasparov V. Deep Blue … ah memories

Many moons ago, a question that was frequently asked of futurists was “when will a computer beat a human Grand-master at chess?” The correct answer now is “ten years ago today.” It was a defining moment in my life, which is further proof of how truly geeky I am.

Garry Kasparov, the guy with the dubious honor of having been beaten by the computer, just made Time’s 100 most influential people list. He recently got arrested in Russia for protesting Putin’s government. He looks like he might be making a bid for a life in politics.

I like the guy.

Responses

  1. When I heard that Deep Blue won, I remember jumping up and pumping my fist in the air. Thats a cool pic you found, BTW.

    Are you hot-linking it from Wired? Man be careful doing that, I have seen some great internet pranks pulled on sites that were hot-linking an images.

    -T

  2. Yes I am hotlinking–because WordPress does not have a way of saving images up to your own blog site like Blogspot did. That’s the ONLY thing about WordPress that is lagging behind (unless I don’t know how to do it.)

  3. Back in the day, before Blogger allowed image hosting, I signed up to an image hosting service. Back then I used ImageShack, which is good (but I always forgot my login information, unfortunately). Now I use Photobucket for some of that – mainly for images in the sidebar. I know it’s a pain to do that extra step, but I haven’t gotten reamed for hot-linking.

  4. “Yes I am hotlinking–because WordPress does not have a way of saving images up to your own blog site like Blogspot did. That’s the ONLY thing about WordPress that is lagging behind (unless I don’t know how to do it.)”

    Jim, you don’t know how to do it.

    Even on my old WordPress config (a year old) you just scroll down when writing a post and there is a box with Browse… Upload… etc

    This allows you to upload images and these become associated both with the specific post and able to be browsed in their totality.

  5. Thank you Kingfelix! I was apparently too impatient to scroll down and figure it out.

    Doh!

    (No more hot-linking.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

