Posted by: Jim | June 1, 2007

My vas pokhoronim!

A very interesting opinion piece in the Dallas Morning News reveals some disturbing things.

1. Iraq, where we were supposed to be “containing terrorism,” is now clearly exporting insurgents to other regions – to Lebanon, to Syria, to Gaza, to Bangladesh, to Kurdistan.

2. Friends of [Bush’s] from Texas were shocked recently to find him nearly wild-eyed, thumping himself on the chest three times while he repeated “I am the president!” He also made it clear he was setting Iraq up so his successor could not get out of “our country’s destiny.”

I am reminded of Nikita Kruschev, who repeatedly disrupted a United Nations General Assembly in September-October 1960 by removing his shoe and banging his desk with it. The unflappable British Prime Minister Harold Macmillan famously commented over his shoulder to the Assembly President that if Mr Khrushchev wished to continue, he would like a translation. 

We have 598 days left, as long as there isn’t a “national emergency.”

Responses

  1. Oh, there will be an ’emergency’. Bet on it. And watch all the devoted Bush-kissers actually buy into it.

    We are so fucked.

    * * *

  2. I saw that yesterday… I don’t… It’s over, isn’t it? Is Bush rolling up the pages of the Constitution to snort coke? I have a good friend thats a “truther”, and he’s a lot of fun to argue with. I told him that these 9/11 conspiracy theories (cruise missiles, demo charges, thermite, etc.) were all non-sense, and it is, but I’m starting to believe in the “let it happen” theory.

    Oil production is going to peak in the next 10-25 years, and maybe the neo-cons think that they are “securing Americas future” by capturing Iraq’s oil.
    That reminds me, wasn’t Iraqi oil supposed to fund the war effort? Where is it? As far as I can tell there hasn’t been a drop sent to America.

    Oh, and now Bush is a big believer in global warming? Did you see this sh*t today? A couple of years ago I told my woman that Bush was either dumbest president in American history, or an evil genius that would put Emperor Palpatine to shame. I still think the former, but I am starting to wonder…

    This is giving me a headache, I’m going to bed.

    -Tommy


Leave a Reply

Categories

