Posted by: Jim | October 4, 2007

We Have your Weapons Mr. “Buttle”

This is just embarassing.

China is stepping in to sell arms to the Iraqi police, whose arms WE sold them have gone missing. We think the bad guys have them. To make matters worse, the country who should be seen as a potential-future-enemy-who-could-squish-us-like-a-bug is now creating supply lines into the fray. Terrific.

Sorry for the fictive reference in the title, but there are no examples in real life that are stupid enough to compare to.

Responses

  1. Jim – Is the title of the post a reference to Brazil?

    If it is, I don’t get it.

    If it is not, I don’t get it.

  2. Yes it is, and I’m giving our government the benefit of the doubt in doing so. I’m assuming that our bureaucracy is so overwhelmed in attempting to control a massive effort, that it misses tiny but vital details, resulting in huge ramifications.

  3. They showed Brazil on a transatlantic flight I was on. 37000 feet with a movie featuring terrorist bombs going off. And no, it wasn’t strangely comforting.

    One of my favourites.

  4. I think it’s one of the most brilliant social satires of our day–and quite prescient as well.

    It’s one of my favorites too, along with “Blade Runner.” I can’t wait to see “The Final Cut” coming out this December in big screen, along with the 5-disc special edition DVD, including a full DVD of all the cut scenes, interviews, etc. I can’t wait!!

  5. Have you seen Metropolis, also?

    They make a good double header.

  6. I saw the brilliant ‘Brazil’ again recently and was amazed at how much the context of the film has changed with the times. It used to be a dark comedy. Now it seems more like a horror film.

    * * *

  7. that settles it … I need to watch “Brazil” again, but this time with my kids.

  8. Something that I want to know: Where did Iraq get the $100M to buy the weapons?

    I wonder if this has anything to do with Mitt Romney’s (former) Bain Capital and China’s Huawei recent buy-out of 3Com? Of course Bain capital has close ties with the Carlyle Group…

    Fuck it all, I’m moving to Montreal. Hey why not? Their Dollar is worth more now.

    -T


Leave a Reply

Categories

