Posted by: Jim | October 17, 2007

Control-Z for the Past Six Years

This is a good one, and worthy of me crawling out from under my rock to blog about it.

The American Freedom Agenda Act would bar the use of evidence obtained through torture; require that federal intelligence gathering is conducted in accordance with the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act (FISA); create a mechanism for challenging presidential signing statements; repeal the Military Commissions Act, which, among other things, denies habeas corpus to certain detainees; prohibit kidnapping, detentions, and torture abroad (rendition); protect journalists who publish information received from the executive branch; and ensure that secret evidence is not used to designate individuals or organizations with a presence in the U.S. as foreign terrorists. If it could only un-attack Iraq, it would basically be a “Control-Z” to the Bush Administration. Works for me.

This bill was introduced by a Republican , who makes me wish I was still registered with his party–just so I could vote for him in that Primary.

I like this act, and you can urge your Congressional Representative to vote for it by going here. I’m providing that link, even though that organization botched my registration in 2000 and prevented me from voting Democratic for the first time in my life.

Go forth and Undo.

Responses

  1. Go ahead and say it — SAY IT! “It’ll never get passed.”

    :PPPppppp


Leave a Reply

Categories

