Posted by: Jim | January 16, 2008

I Don’t <3 Huckabee

We have a pretty bad line-up of Presidential contenders this year, but Huckabee stands out as the worst possible choice to lead the most powerful nation in the history of the earth.

Here’s further evidence why.

Here’s the money quote, said by Huckabee in Michigan on Monday:

“I have opponents in this race who do not want to change the Constitution,” Huckabee told a Michigan audience on Monday. “But I believe it’s a lot easier to change the Constitution than it would be to change the word of the living god. And that’s what we need to do — to amend the Constitution so it’s in God’s standards rather than try to change God’s standards so it lines up with some contemporary view.”

That’s right Mr. Huckabee, your opponents don’t want to change the Constitution because they’re not insane.  Any government that sanctions a religion, will ultimately kill people in the name of that religion. Check your history books. Any religion that thinks it impossible that they would commit atrocities in the name of their God, is doomed to.

Huckabee looks good on TV, and he sounds like an intelligent man when he speaks. Do not be fooled! He is irrational, and irresponsible. The fact that he wants to create a state-sanctioned religion is probably the singlemost dangerous plank in any presidential candidate’s agenda, ever.

Responses

  1. True Republicans Barry Goldwater and Teddy Roosevelt warned us about injecting religion into American politics. After the decimation of our party by W and Lott and Delay and the rest of the Southern Republicans, if Huckabee is the nominee I fear they’ll be no more GOP north of the Mason-Dixon. The last Republican in NY, please shut out the lights.

  2. I also do not ❤ Huckabee, for Jim’s reasons and many others. I may from the right side of the aisle, but religious right I am not. Also, President Huckabee? That moniker would not strike fear into the souls of those who oppose freedom and liberty.

    Romney? Similar reasons, but instead of religion, insert the word cult.

    Go McCain.

  3. Thing is, as GOP loses support, these religious right are going to be the last to leave, being some of the most ideological, so they are only going to become more influential, no?

    It’s a structural, geo-political problem, as Tony said. Once the taking of the Southern states is no longer sufficient to winning the White House the GOP risks being corralled effectively into the South West.

    Doesn’t make me lose any sleep, but I am just wary of its death throes, Huckabee even broaching the idea of amending the Constitution to reflect God’s standards, as he did this week, is frankly terrifying, there is seemingly no depth that he will not plumb to try and turn out the bible-thumpers.

  4. If the Party of the Wide Stance (POWS, the new nickname since the ‘Grand’ had to be removed from GOP, leaving just ‘Old Party’) insists on handing the nomination to Fuckabee, they will most likely be sealing their own doom — which wouldn’t bother me (or the rest of the world) in the least. However, there’s always the chance that the idjuts who twice elected The Worst President Ever (or the evil bastards who rigged the elections) will manage to triumph again.

    Therefore even though my gut tells me that Schmuckleberry could be the best thing to happen to this country in a long time (by putting the last nail in the Neandercons’ coffin), the wise and cynical 85% of me has decided it’s not worth the risk. If Bush is Mussolini aspiring to be Hitler, this guy is Caligula aspiring to be Torquemada. And I don’t trust the system as far as I can throw a Volkswagen, so I hope the Righties have the good sense to keep this Religiofascist fuckwad in his pew.

    Romney’s not much better; as Tom Robbins says, ‘never trust a pig that’s selling pork sandwiches.’ I’ve got no particular beef with Mormons per se — at least not any more than I have against any of the other dogma-suckling sheeple out there — but we need to add the following to the Oath of Office: “I hereby swear to uphold the separation of church and state, and may my particular god strike me dead if I do not.” Not that the Oath of Office has any meaning anymore, thanks to Herr Bush.

    McCain? Well, what can I say about McCain that hasn’t been said before? He’s a War Hero (TM). He bravely served his country in a war that was unnecessary and based on lies, and he evidently didn’t learn a thing from that big ‘oops’ experience. He was tortured in an enemy prison (for nothing, thank you), and apparently he never recovered his senses. Or he just stayed scared. The irony of all the Right-Wing macho posturing is how transparent it is. They’re all scared to death, except of course for the ones at the top gleefully yanking on the fire alarm and watching their constituents panic.

    I’ve already mentioned being a supporter of Ron Paul, even though I disagree with just about everything he stands for — because he’s the only Republican running who has a fucking clue what country he wants to be President of. Lately, however, his theocratic roots have been showing too, and that makes my butt itch. Anyway, The Media Machine has pretty much already spit him out, and the lemmings do what they’re told.

    Glad I’m not a Republican. That, of course, doesn’t mean I’m all that happy to be a Democrat; we don’t have much of a choice either escept for Kucinich, and he’s been spit out too. I wish Canada wasn’t so goddamned cold.

    * * *

  5. Canada is going to be a lot warmer in 10 years, thanks to the climate change that everybody but the 30%ers can see happening – hang in there!

    Guatemala is great, too, 33 degrees C right now and great value.

  6. Hey Felix, I’m tempted. Can I be a graphic designer in Guatemala? I guess I’d have to market myself here and do long-distance freelance gigs, yes? I speak Spanish but at pretty much a toddler level. Kinda like a lot of Americans speak English.

    * * *

  7. Bri

    Of course you can be a graphic designer here, but you would need US clients, as you say, as it is not feasible to work/live in Guatemala City, and the money on offer sucks anyway. The flipside is you could offer US clients sweeter deals as the $ goes a lot further here, my daily needs run to about 12$ a day. The coffee is also extremely good.

    I get by fine with my clutch of UK-based websites to maintain and a monthly supply of gleaming pounds to draw upon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

