Posted by: Jim | May 13, 2008

Einstein said it. I believe it. That settles it.

Christians have, for decades, referred to Albert Einstein as a vanguard for intelligent people who choose a religious path. Even though this is an ad hominen approach to validating something as true, it always irked me to think that Einstein was intellectually lazy. I’ve always believed that when Einstein used the word “God,” he was referring to the laws that govern the universe,and not a higher form of intelligence that created the universe.

A recent discovery was revealed today opens the kimono on Einstein’s religious views:

In the note, written the year before his death, Einstein dismissed the idea of God as the product of human weakness and the Bible as “pretty childish.”

and later:

“For me,” he added, “the Jewish religion like all other religions is an incarnation of the most childish superstitions.”

I think that people invoke “God” because they need an excuse to stop thinking. I think Einstein would agree.

Responses

  1. ‘I think that people invoke “God” because they need an excuse to stop thinking’

    I suppose you might ‘think’ this but it seems rather off handed to make this remark. If you choose to not believe there is a God then you made a choice. If I choose to believe there is a God then I have made a choice. It would be incorrect to claim I do not ‘think’ when reaching this decision. I simply come to a different conclusion than you do.

    Quite possibly I am a better ‘thinker’ than you. Maybe I have ‘thunk’ about this till I can ‘think’ about this no more or maybe I ‘think’ about this each and every day. Possibly you decided to stop ‘thinking’ about this and simply decided to say God does not exist. That must be it, Christians might ‘think’ about this every day with every prayer yet you have chosen to give up ‘thinking’ about God.

    Enough ‘thinking’ for now.

  2. :::yawn:::

    Why, oh why does it matter? The laws are the same, whither created by a ‘God’ or by nature itself, no?

    I choose one, you choose the other. Why is being ‘right’ so important?

    The atheist in you is beginning to sound like an evangelist, Jimbo. The more pound your fist into your hand trying to prove your point of view, the more you look like a missionary trying to convince indigenous peoples that Christ is Lord.

    I am a Christian man, and I’m fine with my faith, my point of view. I don’t feel the need to go around trying to convince those who think differently than I that my way is the way it should be.

    Einstein is dead, and he was neither God nor demon. He knew how the universe worked moreso than we do. That’s about all there is to that. Because someone ‘knows it all’ about physics and quantum theory, does not make them an expert on the Bible, or for that matter, religion.

  3. Todd, you are right. The atheist in me *is* starting to become like an evangelist. This is because I have come to the conclusion that the belief in God will be the most likely cause of human extinction.

  4. Correction, I haven’t come to a conclusion, I have only come to an opinion.


Leave a Reply

Categories

