Posted by: Jim | December 19, 2008

Smacked Down

The author of the blog “Blue Hydra” quoted a 2-year-old post of mine, and it made me realize how much I’ve changed even in that short span of time. Two years ago, I had a much more tolerant view of religion in our society. Then I read Sam Harris’s “The End of Faith,” and Carl Sagan’s “The Varieties of Scientific Experience,” and Carl Sagan’s “The Demon-Haunted World,” and “Descarte’s Bones” by Russell Shorto. I’ve also started reading “The Skeptic,” (Michael Shermer’s magazine). Another resource was Bill Maher’s film, “Religulous.”

 

Sorry Blue Hydra! I now disagree with my earlier statements. 

Responses

  1. I agree with your earlier statements. I have not read all that you have, either…

  2. Have you read this?

    http://www.amazon.com/Understanding-Times-David-Noebel/dp/1565072685

    Would you agree with this ?
    “Francis Crick in The Astonishing Hypothesis:
    The Astonishing Hypothesis is that you—your joys and your sorrows, your memories and your ambitions, your sense of personal identity and free will, are in fact no more than the behavior of a vast assembly of nerve cells and their associated molecules”

  3. I would agree, yep.

  4. I might also suggest that the way that is worded intentionally takes the awe and wonder out of life, when I couldn’t disagree with that more.

    I would prefer to reference Carl Sagan on the matter over Crick. His books fill me with excitement and amazement about life and science. Isn’t it amazing that the universe has seen fit to create ME–a sentient being–to glimpse it, if even only for a moment?

  5. Jim, I like your response. It is true to what I believed about you.

    I would like to ad that the universe has seen fit to create Christians as well.

    We are not a people to be laughed at, pushed around and ridiculed. According to the definition by Carl Sagan, we could be seen as amazing and interesting and a product of the universe.

  6. The way you speak of the universe, though, indicates that you should spell it with a capital “U”. I see the universe with a lower-case “u” … as a neutral set of laws … atoms responding to stimuli, that produced everything including Christians, and athelete’s foot.

  7. That’s fine. Small u. The point is the same.


Leave a Reply

Categories

